Raw Lemon, Honey and Pistachio Cheesecake

Image

By now most of my friends and family know that I’m somewhat obsessed with raw desserts. There’s not a lot to not like about them. They’re healthy, packed full of vitamins and nutrients and pretty easy to make (even non bakers like myself can pull off a fairly descent raw dessert). So it may come as no surprise to those close to me that I am experimenting with different flavour combinations in search of a match made in heaven.

I think this lemon, honey and pistachio combo comes pretty close.

The raw base I use never really changes, although this time I used cashews instead of my usual walnuts. The filling comprises a few ingredients and is decadently smooth and creamy you won’t even miss the cream cheese.

This dairy, gluten and egg free dessert is sure to go down a sweet treat. Cut it into portions and freeze for delicious and healthy after school snacks or save for yourself as an after dinner treat.

A quick note: The filling is green (my favourite colour so naturally I love it) but nonetheless green is different to most desserts we eat. I think the green is complimentary to the pistachios and because of that it, for me works beautifully. My kids loved this dessert (even the non-avocado eating one)!

Raw Lemon, Honey, and Pistachio Cheesecake

Ingredients:
Base:
2 cups cashews
1 cup pistachios
19 dates (I would use less next time as the base was a little too sticky for my liking – start with less and add more as needed)
Filling:
3 avocados
2 tbs coconut cream
1 cup coconut oil
2 tbs honey (use rice malt or maple syrup to make this vegan)
Juice from 1 lemon

Method:
Put nuts in a food processor and blitz until crumbs. Add about half the dates and process to combine. Add more dates as needed to bind the dough together. When combined, press into prepared tart case and put in freezer while you make the filling.

For filling, simply combine all ingredients except coconut oil into the food processor (no need to clean it from the base). Process until smooth and while processor is running add coconut oil. Continue to process until mixture is smooth and creamy.

Once creamy, top base with filling and finish off with crushed pistachios on top. Put in the freezer until set. Remove from freezer about 15 minutes prior to serving.

To store, simply cut into portions, cover and freeze.

Happy ‘baking’.

 

Leave a Reply

